special chemistry which gives Grand Cru in Burgundy depends in the first place on the "terroir".
The Citeaux monks in the twelfth century were the first landlords of the "Clos de la
Perrière" and also the first to try to understand the secrets and mysteries of wine quality.
wine making of the "Clos de la Perrière " based on tradition and know-how dating back to
the monks work, is carefully run by the owners themselves at the Manoir. All the making
process, low yield, work at the vine, hand picking of the harvest, wine-making in casks and bottling is using
traditional methods at the Manoir.
"Manoir" and the "Clos de la Perrière" rise above the village of Fixin near
Gevrey-Chambertin. They have belonged to the Joliet family since 1853. This represents six
generations of family ownership. The property, made of a unique piece of land, lies around
the big old Manoir. The name "Perrière" - a local term for quarry - indicates a vineyard on
or near chalk rubble. Similar names in Meursault, Puligny-Montrachet, Gevrey-Chambertin...
indicates "terroir" for great wines.